2018/2019 Award Shortlist

The shortlist for the ninth Margaret Tait Award has been selected:

Aideen Doran

Alberta Whittle

Rob Kennedy

Corin Sworn

The recipient of the award will be announced at Glasgow Film Festival 2018. 

The Margaret Tait Award is a Glasgow Film Festival commission supported by Creative Scotland and LUX, inspired by the celebrated Orcadian filmmaker Margaret Tait (1918 – 1999), a filmmaker and writer whose film poems, hand-painted animations and documentaries were pioneering in the field of experimental filmmaking.

Inspired by the wealth of talent emerging from Scotland, the Margaret Tait Award was founded in 2010 to support experimental and innovative artists working within the field of experimental filmmaking. The award aims to provide a high-profile platform for the winning artist to exhibit their work and engage with a wider audience: the winner will have the opportunity to showcase their work at Glasgow Film Festival 2019.

The 2018/19 Margaret Tait Award panel consists of the following members: Mark Thomas (Creative Scotland), Nicole Yip (LUX Scotland), Sean Greenhorn (Glasgow Film Festival), Tessa Giblin (Talbot Rice), Nuno Sacramento (Peacock Visual Arts), Eoin Dara (Dundee Contemporary Arts), Sarah Perks (HOME), Torsten Lauschmann (former winner) and Dominic Paterson (Hunterian/University of Glasgow).

For further information please contact sean.greenhorn@glasgowfilm.org

banknote calendar-02 calendar close down-chevron facebook filter google-plus left-arrow-02 mail play-icon right-arrow search shopping-basket small-play-icon tick twitter up-arrow