Shortlist Announced for 2017/18 Margaret Tait Award

On Wednesday 14 December, a selected panel of Scottish artists and arts professionals decided on a shortlist of four artists who will be in competition for the eighth Margaret Tait Award. These artists are: Jamie Crewe, Sarah Forrest, Margaret Salmon and Kimberley O’Neill.

The Margaret Tait Award is a Glasgow Film Festival commission supported by Creative Scotland and LUX, inspired by the celebrated Orcadian filmmaker Margaret Tait (1918 – 1999), a filmmaker and writer whose film poems, hand-painted animations and documentaries were pioneering in the field of experimental filmmaking.

Inspired by the wealth of talent emerging from Scotland, the Margaret Tait Award was founded in 2010 to support experimental and innovative artists working within the field of experimental filmmaking. The award aims to provide a high-profile platform for the winning artist to exhibit their work and engage with a wider audience: the winner will have the opportunity to showcase their work at Glasgow Film Festival 2018.

In May 2016 Glasgow-based artist Kate Davis was awarded the commission. Her new film will premiere on Monday 20 February at Glasgow Film Festival 2017. The winner of the 17/18 award will also be announced at this screening.

The panel for this selection consisted of the following members: Mark Thomas (Creative Scotland), Nicole Yip (LUX Scotland), Sean Greenhorn (Glasgow Film Festival), Kirsten Lloyd (University of Edinburgh), Graham Domke (freelance curator/writer), Katrina Brown (The Common Guild), Gayle Meikle (artist/curator), Emma Nicholson (Atlas Arts), Alexia Holt (Cove Park) and Charlotte Prodger (former winner).

banknote calendar-02 calendar close down-chevron facebook filter google-plus left-arrow-02 mail play-icon right-arrow search shopping-basket small-play-icon tick twitter up-arrow