Image for Nominate


Nominations are now open for the ninth year of the Margaret Tait Award, supported by Creative Scotland and LUX. Anyone can nominate an artist, but artists cannot nominate themselves.

Each year, the Award is presented to a Scottish or Scotland-based artist who has established a significant body of work over the past 5–12 years; is recognised by peers for their contribution to the artists’ moving image sector; and can demonstrate the significant impact that the award will have on the development of their practice. The recipient of the award receives a £10,000 prize to produce ambitious new work, which is exhibited at the Glasgow Film Festival the following year.

Eligible artists are nominated through an open call process, which allows anyone (the general public, as well as arts professionals and artists) both within and outwith Scotland to put forward an artist. Nominations are assessed by a jury of artists and professionals from across the fields of the visual arts and cinema. Shortlisted artists are then asked to present proposals for the commission.

Sarah Forrest, the recipient of the 2017 award, will present her new film at Glasgow Film Festival 2018. The 2018 award will be announced at this screening, and a reception for both Forrest and the new recipient will be held afterwards.  

Who can be nominated?

  • Artists who are Scottish and/or based in Scotland.
  • Artists who have developed a significant body of work over the past 5–12 years and are at the cusp of a major impact on the artists’ moving image sector.
  • Artists who are contributing to the critical context of artists’ moving image production in Scotland at the time of nomination.
  • There is no age restriction.
  • We regret that we cannot accept nominations of artists who are students.

How to nominate:

Please send 200 words on the artist’s career to date, their impact on the sector and your reasons for nominating. Please include a link to the artist’s website or an online example of their work, as well as the artist’s email address and phone number. 

Applications should be sent by email only to

Deadline for nominations is 9am on Monday 4 December 2017


The panel will meet to discuss applications week commencing 11 December, with requests for proposals outlining the project sent 19 December, deadline 1 February 2018. 

The winner will be decided at the final panel meeting, week commencing 5 February, with the winner announced at Sarah Forrest' screening as part of Glasgow Film Festival 2018 in February.

Previous recipients have included Sarah Forrest, Kate Davis, Duncan Marquiss, Charlotte Prodger, Rachel Maclean, Anne-Marie Copestake and Torsten Lauschmann. See more on Previous Winners here.

banknote calendar-02 calendar close down-chevron facebook filter google-plus left-arrow-02 mail play-icon right-arrow search shopping-basket small-play-icon tick twitter up-arrow